Indian Premier League (IPL)

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a Twenty20 cricket league in India contested during March - May every year. The league was founded in 2008 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).   


Indian Cricket League (ICL) v/s Indian Premier League (IPL)

Indian Cricket League (ICL) was similar to IPL but was launched in 2007, one-year before the first tournament of IPL. For ICL, funding was provided by Zee Entertainment Enterprises. ICL was not supported by BCCI and ICCI and BCCI also considered it as a rebel league. To avoid the participation of their domestic and international players in ICL, BCCI increased pay for the players in domestic tournaments and also imposed lifetime ban for the players joining ICL.

In 2008, BCCI launched Indian Premier League Twenty20 which killed the existence of ICL.


Foundation of IPL

In second half of the year 2007, BCCI announced the launch of a franchise-based Twenty20 cricket competition which was named as Indian Premier League.  Lalit Modi, the then vice president of BCCI was credited with the idea of IPL.

To decide the owners of the new league an auction was held and the home cities for the teams formed were declared as Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Mohali, and Mumbai.


IPL Awards

Orange Cap - The Orange Cap is awarded to the top run-scorer in the IPL during a season.

Purple Cap - The Purple Cap is awarded to the top wicket-taker in the IPL during a season.

Most Valuable Player - its decided based on the rating system.


Lodha Committee

The Lodha Committee named after Justice RM Lodha was appointed by the Supreme Court of India on 22 January 2015 to analyse and recommend implementable actions for improving the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The decision to make Lodha Committee was taken after two team owners, Gurunath Meiyappan and Raj Kundra held guilty in the Indian Premier League (IPL) betting scandal.


IPL season winners and runner-up

Seasons Winners Runner-Up
2008 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings
2009 Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore
2010 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians
2011 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings
2013 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab
2015 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore
2017 Mumbai Indians Rising Pune Supergiant
2018 Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad
2019 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings

Published : Aug. 1, 2020